Olivia Tatlock

Junior Olivia Tatlock was one of three Deerfield Demons to earn first-team all-Trailways South honors. Tatlock also earned MVP.

Johnson Creek led all teams with four honorees on the Trailways South All-Conference Teams following the 2019 softball season.

Deerfield and Orfordville Parkview each had three players honored as first-teamers. Sophomore pitcher Dani Ament, junior Olivia Tatlock and senior Aspen Kohl each were named first-team all-Trailways South.

Tatlock had seven doubles and five triples for the Demons, who took second place in the league behind Johnson Creek. Tatlock scored a team-high 34 runs.

Ament built an 11-8 record and a 3.05 ERA in 21 games played. She struck out 76 batters in 117 innings.

Kohl was the lone senior honored for Deerfield. She had 23 hits in 74 at-bats and drove in 20 runs.

“She put a lot of work in the last four years as a softball player for Deerfield. As a freshman, she was a good ball player and a good athlete, but she improved her game every year,” Deerfield coach Scott Mack said. “It was amazing to see her grow as a human being and as a softball player. She was one of our team captains this year and she worked her butt off. She never complained or whined at practice.

“We’re definitely going to miss her and we’re going to miss Abby Spilde. She improved a lot each year too. In our last game against Racine, it was a sad day for both of them.”

The Demons lost in the opening round of the WIAA Division 4 regionals to Racine Lutheran. Four underclassmen earned second-team honors — sophomore Kaylee Galla, freshman Morgan Mack, sophomore Hailey Eickhoff and sophomore Ashlee Ballmoos — and sophomore Kylie Damon earned honorable mention.

“Usually, first and second team all conference are upperclassmen,” Mack said. “It shows that our kids have put the time in and really earned those honors.”

The Demons handed out eight awards at their end-of-the-season banquet. Tatlock won the MVP, Galla won the offensive MVP award, Ament won the defensive MVP award, Eickhoff was named most-improved, Ballmoos took the golden glove award, Morgan Mack won the newcomer of the year award, Kohl won the coaches award for determination and Kylie Damon won the resilience award for displaying grit on the field.

“It’s a great year, we had 15 wins, which is the most we had in the last four years,” Scott Mack said. “We played a tougher schedule too. It was a great year, I’m really excited for what we’re going to be able to do moving forward.”

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.