CAMBRIDGE — Kody Hubred of Deerfield powered to the front of the 20-car field at Jefferson Speedway and stayed there to secure to the win in the Pal’s Car Club 50-lap Late Model main event. The win marks Hubred’s first feature victory of the season at Wisconsin’s Action Track.

Seth Reamer grabbed the early lead from fellow front row starter, Joe Shelby, on lap three. Dylan Schuyler followed Reamer around the high side of Shelby, claiming the second spot on lap four.

Jason Erickson stayed in Schuyler’s track to pick up the third spot on the same lap as he began to work over Schuyler for second. Reamer continued to edge away from the pack while Schuyler fought hard to keep Erickson at bay.

After a several-lap battle, Erickson slipped a bit, falling back into a fight with Hubred for the third spot. Hubred moved by Erickson for third on lap 17 then slid up alongside Schuyler looking for second.

Hubred completed the pass on lap 20 and began to close in on the leader, Reamer. A caution on lap 27 slowed the action when contact between Michael Grueneberg and Dale Nottestad ended with Grueneberg spun around in turn three.

As racing resumed, Erickson shot to the outside of Schuyler, stealing the third position while Hubred began to challenge Reamer at the point. Hubred completed the pass for the lead just before the second and final yellow waved on lap 30. Hubred led the field back to green while Erickson quickly dove under Reamer. After a brief battle, Erickson moved into sole possession of second.

Erickson spent the remainder of the race trying to close the gap on Hubred, but it was to no avail.

At the checkers, Hubred owned a healthy advantage to score the win. Erickson finished second followed by Stephen Scheel, Riley Stenjem and Shaun Scheel.


Janesville’s Dan Harris survived an exciting 30-lap Sportsman feature to pick up the win.

Harris and Miquel Baladez paced the field to green as Harris pounced on the lead immediately.

Jake Biever and Steven Sauer split around Baladez as they fought for the second spot on lap two. Baladaz spun a lap later to force the first of three yellow flags. Harris led the pack back to green with Sauer in his rear view mirror and Biever in third.

After a second caution on lap seven, Sauer began to challenge Harris at the front as the top five bunched together.

The leaders raced under a blanket as the laps ticked away. Sauer and Harris led the battle with Tyler Deporter and Jason Thoma side by side behind the leaders.

On lap 24, Deporter and Sauer touched while racing in close quarters. Deporter was forced to check up along with Sauer, handing the lead back to Harris. Thoma tried to charge up alongside Harris, but a final caution on lap 26 waved when Deporter spun in turn two.

Thoma mirrored Harris as they returned to racing with only four laps remaining.

Thoma dove under Harris as the duo raced past the white flag door to door.

At the stripe, Harris owned the advantage by inches to secure the win. Thoma settled for second with Mark Deporter, Sauer and Chris Jones rounding out the top five.


Edgerton’s Mark English laid claim to the 20-lap International feature event.

Jason Uttech and Timothy Higgins led the field to green as the battled for control of the top spot. Uttech grabbed the position on lap two while Josh Rusch and Merek Pankow challenged Higgins for second. Rusch and Pankow emerged side by side on lap three while English moved in closer.

On lap six, English moved to the low side of the speedway to make it a three way fight for second. English completed the pass on lap nine and set his sights on Uttech at the front.

English made the winning pass complete on lap 13 with Keith Bell moving up to race with Uttech for second.

Bell made the pass in the closing laps, but English was already well on his way to picking up the win. Bell was second followed by Neil Higgins, Rusch and James Junget.

Hobby Stock

Hobby Stock feature event ended with Waunakee’s Brandon Riedner visiting victory lane for the second straight time. Nick Bruley took the early lead on lap one with fellow front row starter, Brandon Angileri trying to hang tough on the high side.

Bruley remained out front as Jimmy Robinson moved past Angileri for second on lap three. Dustin Ward made his way up to third as Robinson began to work over Bruley at the front.

On lap five, Robinson dove under Bruley entering turn three.

The duo made contact several times through turn four and onto the front stretch.

Ward tried to take advantage, moving to the low side of the speedway.

But all the banging ended when all three drivers came to a stop by turn one to force the sole caution of the race. This incident handed the top spot over to Scott Riedner with Jared Vike up to second.

As racing resumed, Vike charged under Riedner, moving into possession of the lead on lap 6.

Riedner began to fall off the pace, eventually pulling his mount to the infield and retiring from the event.

Jim Tate Jr. moved up to second with Brandon Riedner and Lucas Buckingham battling for third.

Riedner moved around Buckingham and quickly went to work on Tate for second.

By lap 11, Riedner was clear of Tate and catching Vike on the point. Riedner hounded the rear bumper of Vike until lap 20. Riedner chose the outside groove, drawing with Vike for the lead.

After a brief battle, Riedner slid out front alone as the laps wound to a close. At the checkers, it was Riedner for his second straight feature win.

Vike was second followed by Tate, Chester Willliams and Korey Bengsch.

Road Warrior

Bill Sweeney of Lake Mills claimed the 15-lap Road Warrior feature event.

Rodger Stephenson led early from the front row as Mark Dewey slid up to second on lap two. Dewey continued forward, drawing alongside Stephenson.

Dewey cleared for the lead on lap three, bringing Sweeney along for second. Sweeney began pressuring the new leader, finding his opening on lap nine as he dove under Dewey.

A lap later, Sweeney was out front while Dewey tried to fight back on the low side.

But Sweeney held him at bay in the final laps to capture the checkered flag and get the win. Dewey was second with AJ Accardi, Bill Reynolds and RJ Nicolson completing the top five.


Bryan Gottschalk of Jefferson was awarded the win after the 15-lap Bandit feature event.

Josh Frank led lap one until a caution for debris slowed the field on lap two. Frank and Justin Kumbier led the field back to green with Frank once again claiming the lead on the restart.

Matt Urban charged up to second and continued forward alongside Frank on lap three. Urban moved out front while Gottschalk and Kumbier split Frank in a battle for second. Gottschalk emerged in the second spot on lap five and the leaders ran single file to the checkers.

Urban crossed the stripe first at the finish, but following post-race inspection was forced to vacate his position, handing the win to Gottschalk. Josh Lenz Josh Lenz finished second followed by Kumbier, Gaven Smothers, Frank and Rianne Remsik.

Next Saturday, June 15, is a full program of racing presented by CR Custom Construction with time trials at 5 p.m. and racing at 7 p.m.

Visit online for more information.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.