First-team all-conference

Sophomore Cal Olson was the only Norski to earn first-team all-conference in baseball.

The DeForest prep baseball put a young but talented team on the field this fall. The young Norskies flashed a high talent level at times, but also had inconsistent play at times.

Badger North Conference coaches recognized the talent level and named seven Norskies to the all-conference list. It is their most selections since 2016.

DeForest finished 6-8 in the Badger North to tie Portage for fifth place behind Waunakee (11-2), Reedsburg (10-4), Mount Horeb (8-5) and Beaver Dam (7-7). Sauk Prairie (4-10) and Baraboo (3-11) were at the bottom of the standings.

For the second straight year, the Norskies had just one first-team all-conference selection.

DeForest sophomore outfielder/infielder/pitcher Cal Olson was recognized by conference coaches for the first time. He was the lone first-team pick for the Norskies.

Waunakee led the conference with five first-team selections, including juniors Nick Smith (pitcher/infielder), Joe Hauser (infielder/pitcher), Taiten Manriquez (infielder/pitcher) and Will Ross (outfield) and senior Nate Stevens (catcher). Stevens and Smith were both unanimous picks.

Mount Horeb’s senior trio of Tyler Denu (pitcher/utility), Stuart Woller (outfield) and Jordan Schaefer (pitcher/utility), Reedburg’s senior duo of Hayden Han (pitcher) and Wyatt Molitor (first base) and Sauk Prairie senior Adam Juran (catcher) grabbed the final spots on the first team. Hahn and Juran were both unanimous picks.

Stevens was named the Badger North Player of the Year, while Hahn and Smith were the co-Pitchers of the Year.

DeForest had junior infielder/catcher/pitcher Jack Olver and sophomore infielder/designated hitter Justin Hausser land on the second team. It was the first all-conference recognition for both.

The final spots on the second team were made up by Baraboo senior Caden Blum (outfield), Beaver Dam senior Neil Braker (pitcher/outfield), Mount Horeb senior Zach Albrent (outfield), Portage senior Kaden Lehman (designated hitter) and junior Matthew Miles (catcher), Reedsburg’s senior duo of Ben Jones (utility) and Dakota Deitrich (infield), Sauk Prairie senior Bryant Schaaf (pitcher/infield) and Waunakee’s senior tandem of Ryne Fueger (outfield) and Dane Luebke (infield/outfield/catcher).

DeForest had four more players earn honorable mention all-conference, including seniors Trey Kirchberg and Jake Purcell and sophomores Mason Kirchberg and Keagon Kaufmann. Mason Kirchberg was a second-team pick last year, while the other three were recognized for the first time in their respective careers.

The honorable mention list also included Baraboo senior Brady Quinn and junior Calvin Peterson, Beaver Dam senior Brandon LeBeau and juniors Bradon Franke and Adam Chase, Mount Horeb seniors Chase Markin and Billy Meckley and freshman Kolton Schaller, Portage seniors Austen Stensrud and Connor Allsage and junior Colton Brandsma, Reedsburg junior Jakob Wegner, Sauk Prairie senior Ben German and juniors Dylan Andrews and Jay Liedtke and Waunakee junior Charlie Fisher.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.