Julie Bernards and Gwen Boettcher

The selection committee for the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Student Scholarship, Teacher Fellowship, and Principal Leadership program has announced recipients of the Herb Kohl Foundation awards for students, teachers and principals.

Two DeForest Area School District teachers were selected as 2019 Kohl fellows:

• Julie Bernards: Bernards is the seventh grade creative expressions teacher at DeForest Area Middle School. She also serves as the middle school forensics head coach, student council advisor and play advisor.

• Gwen Boettcher: Boettcher is an agricultural science teacher and FFA advisor at DeForest Area High School.

Fellowship recipients are educators who have been chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and their leadership and service within and outside the classroom.

Awards in the amount of $6,000 are being made by the Herb Kohl Foundation to 100 teachers, 16 principals, and their schools, and $10,000 scholarships will be given to 188 graduating high school students.

Excellence Scholarship, Fellowship and Leadership Award recipients were selected by a statewide committee composed of civic leaders, representatives of education-related associations, and the program’s co-sponsors: the Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools (WCRIS), regional Cooperative Educational Service Agencies (CESA), and the Association of Wisconsin School Administrators.

The Kohl Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship program was established by Herb Kohl, philanthropist and businessman, in 1990. To date the foundation has awarded $17.8 million to Wisconsin educators, principals, students, and schools.

“Education is the key to the future of Wisconsin and our nation. I am very proud of the accomplishments of these students, teachers, and principals and look forward to the great contributions they will make in the future,” Kohl said.

Bernards and Boettcher will be honored with other teachers, principals and students in the CESA 2 region at a recognition luncheon on Saturday, March 24, at Sun Prairie High School. Kohl will attend the luncheon and present awards to recipients.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.