One of the best in the North

Alana Gilles was one of two Blue Devils to earn first-team All-Capitol Conference.

The Lodi girls soccer team had its string of eight straight top-two finishes in the Capitol Conference come to an end this spring. The Blue Devils finished in fifth place with a 2-2-3 record.

Sugar River finished 7-0 to win the conference title, followed by Lake Mills (4-1-2), Watertown Luther Prep (4-2-1), Wisconsin Heights (3-1-3), Lodi, Columbus (2-4-1), Cambridge (1-6) and Lakeside Lutheran (0-7).

Capitol coaches took notice of the Lady Blue Devils’ talent and named five players all-conference.

Lodi had senior midfielder Alana Gilles and senior defender Kaelyn Kruchten named to the first team. Both were repeat first-team picks. Kruchten also earned honorable mention all-conference as a sophomore.

The final spots on the first team went to forwards Ava Stelter (Lake Mills, Fr.) and Abbie Burke (Luther Prep, Sr.), midfielders Kirstin Krantz (Sugar River, Sr.), Mia Kroll (Lake Mills, Jr.), Ellie Gentilli (Sugar River, Jr.) and Hannah Schroeder (Luther Prep, Jr.), defenders Julia McNamer (Sugar River, Sr.), Brooke Watrud (Sugar River, Jr.), Lily Zimpelmann (Luther Prep, So.), Cate Mitchell (Wisconsin Heights, So.) and Ellawyn Fong (Sugar River, Sr.) and goalie Rachel Heittola (Sugar River, Sr.).

Stelter was named the Capitol Player of the Year.

Junior midfielder Grace Maerz and sophomore forward Alayna Rosga both represented the Blue Devils on the second team. It was the first recognition for both.

The second team also consisted forward Ashley Adler (Wisconsin Heights, Jr.), midfielders Julianna Wagner (Lake Mills, So.), Hana King (Wisconsin Heights, So.), Ashley Olson (Columbus, So.) and Natalie Hering (Wisconsin Heights, Jr.), defenders Erin Strauss (Lake Mills, Jr.), Katelyn Kitsembel (Lake Mills, Fr.) and Emma Anson (Sugar River, So.) and goalie Sam Menomin (Columbus, Sr.).

Lodi freshman forward Graysn Schmidt was recognized for the first time. She was the only Blue Devil named honorable mention all-conference.

Filling out the honorable mention list was forwards Mia Murray (Lakeside Lutheran, So.) and Kelsi Handel (Wisconsin Heights, Jr.), midfielder Kendra Wilson (Lakeside Lutheran, So.), defenders Sophie Cloute (Luther Prep, Sr.), Andrea Diaz (Columbus, Fr.), Tabitha Vannieuwenhoven (Luther Prep, Sr.) and Sydney Bonilla (Wisconsin Heights, Jr.) and goalies Ashley Buth (Lake Mills, Sr.) and Carley Hirsch (Luther Prep, Sr.).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.