The Capitol's best

Lodi hurdler Mackenzie Heyroth was named the Capitol Conference Performer of the Year.

The Lodi and Poynette boys and girls track teams all put together fantastic showings in the Capitol Conference this spring. It helped them earn a plethora of spots on the all-conference team.

The Lady Blue Devils highlighted the conference season by winning the title at the Capitol Conference Meet in Columbus. They registered 164 points to finish well ahead of second-place Lakeside Lutheran (108). It was the second straight title for Lodi.

The Lady Pumas came away with 70 points to place fourth overall. They were just 5.5 points behind third-place Columbus (75.5).

The Lodi boys tallied 99 points to place second behind Lakeside Lutheran (133) at the conference meet. Poynette came in fifth with 74.5 points.

The Lodi boys and girls squads combined for 20 first-team selections. They had Owen Jelinek, Riley Faust, Lucas Heyroth, Jack Hansen, Colin Statz, Melvin McIntyre, Luke Beckwith, Cayden Coddington, Mackenzie Heyroth, Isabelle Clary, Rhianna Walzer, Hannah Busser, Ella Puls, Amanda Miller, Lexi Mitchell, Taylor Ripp, Lauryn Milne, Mandy Giese, Claire Schonemann and Norah Lee.

Mackenzie Heyroth was named Capitol Conference Performer of the Year.

Poynette was represented on the first team by Megan Reddeman, Katelyn Chadwick, Jessica Bruchs, Elias Ritzke, Jake Buss and Christian Bault.

The rest of the spots on the first team went to Cambridge’s Riley Olson, Ales Brende, Trey Colts, Summer Hausz and Robin Witt, Columbus’ Taylor Zittel, Megan Huber, Teagan Herschleb and Samuel Coughlin, Lake Mills’ Charlie Cassady, Michael Stenbroten, Jaxson Retrum, Adam Moen, Charlie Bender, Abe Flores, Kyle Popowski and Lauren Winslow, Lakeside Lutheran’s Casey Ponyicsanyi, Max Thiele, Caleb Billitz, Brevin Jegerlehner, Tersony Vater, Brendan McKenna, Collin Schulz, Isac Veers, Annika Billitz, Kaitlyn Shadoski, Lauren Thiele, Janae Jensen and Abby Buxa, Luther Prep’s Nathan Wildauer, Ben Hillmer, Cole Burow, Lucas Martin, Ben Cole, Camden Sulzie, Alexander Heiman, Jon Holtz, Ethan Horn, Anna Raasch, Claire Tomhave, Maya Habben, Katelyn Menshing, Abby Buege, Eleanor Tomhave and Maggie Gabb, Marshall’s Gianna Dugan, Sugar River’s Hallie Bartow, Ava Foley, Jade Halvensleben, Heidi Wegehaupt, Katie Bowers and Kayla Jerome, Waterloo’s Brenen Skalitzky and Samantha Battenberg and Wisconsin Heights’ Christian Patzka.

The Blue Devils had 10 more athletes earn second-team honors, including Luke Beckwith, Cayden Coddington, Kyle Becker, Hannah Busser, Ella Puls, Chloe Hix, Lexi Mitchell, Amanda Miller, Rhianna Walzer and Allison Lochner.

Earning second-team all-conference for Poynette were Brayden O’Connor, Christian Bault, Gabe Yelk, Jimmy Heath, Jessica Bruchs, Katelyn Chadwick, Megan Reddeman and Abby Marquardt.

The final spots on the second team went to Cambridge’s Austin Trewyn-Colvin, Jacob Moody, Seth Eaton, Riley Olson and Summer Hausz, Columbus’ Sidney Smith, Taylor Raley, Nathalie Severson, Peyton Priem, Zoe Denk, Kiersten Ott, Savannah Molnar, Genevieve Thelen, Molly Kahl, Teagan Herschlieb and Evan Anderson, Lake Mills’ Jaxson Retrum, Will Carroll, Sam Wolff, Nolan Carlson, Adam Moen, Grace Schopf, Abigail Teopfer, Olivia Dunkleberger, Josy Cefalu, Lily Kussman and Kayla Will, Lakeside Lutheran’s Matt Davis, Ausgust Gresens, Ryan Preskar, Kyle Main, Nate Krenke, Jackson Stake, Elijah Wohling, Graham Hatcher, Jacob Ulrich, Cameron Paske, Mya Hemling, Lily Schuetz, Lauren Thiele, Emma Strohm, Claudia Stuebs, Kristin Karas, Morgan Slonaker, Maddie Abel and Payton Kuepers, Luther Prep’s Jon Holtz, Ben Bode, Christian Koelpin, Michael Zimplemann, Mitchell Bloss, Nathan Wildauer, Ben Hillmer, Maya Habben, Anna Raasch and Maggie Gabb, Marshall’s Claire Huggett, Sugar River’s Emily Bartow, Ava Foley, Jared Schulting, Conor McCoy, Adam Nelson, Caden O’Rourke and Tyler Stempfli, Waterloo’s Christi Forman, Earnest Jiles, Cody Kegler and Spencer Noel and Wisconsin Heights’ Connor Murphy and Brooke Presny.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.