Player of the Year

Poynette junior Casey Fountain was named the Capitol North Player of the Year and Pitcher of the Year.

Led by junior Casey Fountain, the Poynette prep softball team had seven players earn All-Capitol North honors.

The Blue Devils repeated as Capitol North and WIAA Division 3 state champions this spring.

The Pumas easily claimed the Capitol North crown with a perfect 10-0 record, followed by Lake Mills (7-3), Lakeside Lutheran (6-4), Columbus (4-6), Watertown Luther Prep (2-8) and Lodi (1-9).

The Blue Devils had three players recognized.

Fountain repeated on the first team and was named the Capitol North Player of the Year and Pitcher of the Year. The Pumas’ Mattie Bredeson won both honors last season.

Poynette also had senior Ashley Hellenbrand and juniors Molly Anderson, Lucy Cuff, Zoie Ramberg and Lizzie Schwenn named to the first team.

Hellenbrand was also a first-team selection last season and earned second-team honors as a sophomore.

Schwenn and Anderson were on the second team last season.

Lodi did not have a first-team selection.

Lake Mills had five first-team picks, including seniors Briana Jessie, Lexy Topel and Jessie Clift and sophomores Taylor Roughen and Ellie Evenson.

Lakeside Lutheran sophomores Olivia Krieser and Kylee Gnabasik filled out the first team.

Junior Brianna Kowald was the only Puma on the second team. It was her second straight year on the second team.

Lodi was represented on the second team by sophomore Jaden Kolinski and freshman Dylann Harrington. It was the first all-conference recognition for both players.

Columbus had seniors Hally Norman, Megan Boettcher, Mikayla Armatoski and Lexi Thurston and sophomore Claire Smedema land on the second team. The final spots went to Lakeside Lutheran juniors Ryann Burger and Grace Thomas and Luther Prep’s Andrea Bortulin and Ally Goba.

Lodi junior Katie Stoltenberg was the only area athlete to earn honorable mention all-conference. It is her first time being recognized.

Lake Mills freshmen Tessa Kottwitz and Luther Prep seniors Sarah Thede and Hallie Fury rounded out the honorable mention list.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.