Candidates for the April 2, 2019, local elections can begin to circulate their nomination papers Saturday.

There will be two seats on the ballot for the McFarland School Board. The positions are currently held by Arlyn Halvorson and Craig Howery. Both are three-year terms.

Two positions on the Monona Grove School Board will be on the ballot. Each is for a three-year term. Incumbents are Susan Manning and Peter Sobol.

For the McFarland Village Board, there are three trustee seats and the village president position up for election. Incumbent trustees are Stephanie Brassington, Carolyn Clow and Shaun O’Hearn. Brad Czebotar is village president. All positons are for two years.

Monona voters will cast ballots for mayor and three seats on the city council. Incumbents are Mayor Mary O’Connor, and Alders Doug Wood, Chad Speight and Nancy Moore. All are two-year terms.

In the village of Cottage Grove, the ballot will list candidates for village president and three supervisors, all who will seek a two-year term on the village board. Incumbents are Village President Jack Henrich, and Trustees James Elmore, Jeffrey Lennberg and Jon Russell.

In the Town of Cottage Grove, there will be four positions on the ballot: town chairman, two supervisors and municipal judge.

Judge Beth Gilpin has already announced she will not seek another four-year term. Other incumbents whose seats are open are Town Chairman Kris Hampton, Supervisor 1 Mike Fonger and Supervisor 2 Steve Anders. These three spots are for two-year terms.

Two supervisor positions and the town chairman job will be on the ballot for the Town of Blooming Grove. Incumbents are Town Chairman Ron Bristol, and Supervisors Dave Young and Amy Schroeder. All are for two-year terms.

Both supervisor positions, the town chairman and the municipal judge will be on the ballot for the Town of Dunn. Incumbent supervisors are Jeff Hodgson and Steve Greb, Ed Minihan is the town chairman, and Lana Mades is the municipal judge.

The judge’s term will be four years, and the others are two years each.

Nomination papers must be turned in to the municipal or school district offices by Wednesday, Jan. 2.

If a primary is necessary, it will be held Feb. 19.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.