Pass the ball to McFarland High School football wide receiver Nic Hall, and more than likely, good things were going to happen during the 2019 season. Line up Hall as a defensive back, and his opposing receiver was probably not going to have a good night.

That was the constant theme for the 5-foot-11, 175-pound senior, and his talents on both sides of the ball earned him All-Rock Valley Conference first team recognition on offense and defense.

Hall caught 37 passes and ranked third in the conference with 747 receiving yards. Eight of those catches were for touchdowns. He was also dangerous when carrying the ball with 166 yards on 25 carries with three touchdowns.

On defense, Hall was credited with 15 total tackles and a forced fumble as his speed in the backfield caused fits for opposing offenses.

Hall was one of five McFarland players selected to the first team.

On offense, 5-foot-10, 245-pound senior Bryce Thomspon was also selected for his abilities as an offensive lineman. The veteran and his teammates performed the work in the trenches that allowed players such as Hall, quarterback Jeremiah Price-Johnson and running back Connor Frasier to perform their duties on offense.

Five-foot-7, 155-pound junior Zach Gunderson was also a first-teamer at defensive lineman after 69 total tackles including 15 for a loss of yardage, eight sacks and six forced fumbles.

Senior inside linebacker Jonathon Cain was also named to the first team after recording 95 total tackles, three for loss of yardage and one sack. The 5-foot-9, 220-pounder had 10 or more tackles in eight games.

Punter Matthew Amrhein was named first team defense after averaging 36.7 yards per kick.

McFarland players achieving second-team honors included Frasier, who ran for 492 yards and four touchdowns, and placekicker Amrhein, who converted 13-of-15 extra point attempts.

Second-team defense included the Spartans outside linebacker Tyer Neild, who made 35 total tackles, and defensive back Cam Schaaf, who came up with 65 total tackles, three interceptions and seven passes defended.

Three Spartans were named honorable mention: linebacker Jonah Pribbenow, safety/wide receiver Michael Sutor and defensive back/wide receiver Aiden Irwin.

Edgerton, which finished 8-1 and shared the Rock Valley Conference championship with Evansville, had 10 players named first-team offense and defense.

Blue Devils quarterback Tyr Severson was named the league’s offensive player of the year after throwing for 2,176 yards and 25 touchdowns. Edgerton’s Reed Farrington was named the defensive player and lineman of the year.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.