Second-team all-conference

Portage-Poynette senior Hanna Walters earned second-team All-Capitol Conference.

In its second season in the Badger North Conference, the Portage-Poynette girls soccer team had two players earn all-conference honors.

The United finished sixth in the conference with a 2-5 record.

Waunakee was a perfect 7-0 on its way to the conference title, followed by Sauk Prairie (5-1-1), Mount Horeb (5-1-1), DeForest, Reedsburg (2-4-1), Portage-Poynette, Baraboo (1-4-2) and Beaver Dam (0-7).

Portage-Poynette did not have a player on the first team.

Waunakee paced the Badger North with four first-team picks, including seniors Maddie Farnsworth, Sarah McLaughlin and Alyssa Kuhn and junior Isabelle Barmore. Farnsworth, McLaughlin and Kuhn were unanimous selections.

Sauk Prairie was represented on the first team by juniors Kelsey Selden and Ella Schad and freshman Katelyn Fishnick.

The final spots on the first team went to DeForest junior Guadalupe Zaragoza, Reedsburg senior Ava Douglas and Mount Horeb’s senior duo of Maggie Conway and Makyla Severson.

The United had senior Hanna Walters picked to the second team. She was a first-team selection as a sophomore and second-team as a freshman in the Capitol Conference.

Joining Walters on the second team are Mount Horeb seniors Sierra Berg and Kaylee Doebert and junior Kenzie Coulthard, Reedsburg senior Julia Korklewski, Sauk Prairie seniors Camryn Ballweg and Bridget Fabian and freshman Faith Holler and Waunakee senior Josie Bono and juniors Brooke Ehle and Anne Dotzler.

United senior Haley Walters was recognized for the fourth time in her career. She was named honorable mention all-conference.

Haley Walters earned second-team accolades last season. In the Capitol Conference, she was a first-team pick as a sophomore and honorable mention selection as a freshman.

The honorable mention list also includes Baraboo senior Maddy Francis and junior Adele Griffin, Mount Horeb junior Olivia Yanna and sophomore Kate Geisler, Reedsburg junior Caylee Fry, Sauk Prairie junior Macy Breunig, DeForest juniors Mandy Fitzgerald and Claudia Tisch and Waunakee senior Savannah Philo and junior Susie Kettner.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.