Students earn AP Scholar Awards - The Star: Features

Students earn AP Scholar Awards - The Star: Features

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Sun Prairie High School Students earn AP Scholar Awards

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, September 24, 2013 10:15 am

A total of 117 students at Sun Prairie High School have earned AP Scholar Awards in recognition of their achievement on AP Exams.

The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program provides academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP Exams. About 22 percent of the 2.2 million students worldwide who took AP Exams performed at a sufficiently high level to also earn an AP Scholar Award.

The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ performance on AP Exams.

At Sun Prairie High School, three students qualified for the National AP Scholar Award by earning an average grade of four or higher on a five-point scale on all AP Exams taken, and grades of four or higher on eight or more of these exams. These students are Calvin Berg, Thomas Plagge, and Samuel Wagner.

Thirty students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of three or higher on five or more of these exams. These students are Austin Albert, Benjamin Bauman, Calvin Berg, Alexandre Boissonnas, Shay Bourgeois, Kari Bretl, Hannah Bussler, Emily Campbell, Andrew Fabris, Brett Follett, Dane Gallagher, Timothy Glennon, Collin Jeidy, Gowtham Karri, Jacob Knudtson, Sijia Ma, Nicole Perrett, Thomas Plagge, Ellen Plonsky, David Pontius, Tyler Reeves, Courtney Ruehl, Shannon Schiereck, Kyra Silbernagel, Joseph Sveda, Emma Traband, Caroline Trier, Allegra Van Rossum, Samuel Wagner, and Zachary Wilson.

Twenty-four students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of three or higher on four or more of these exams. These students are Michael Curtain, Brandon Dega, Cecilia Demarco, KaiLi Freeman, Nathan Hafeman, Matthew Hietpas, Laura Kaiser, Mary Kozol, Claire Limke, Tessa Loeffler, Paige Maki, Alyssa Martin, Mary McCourt, Alissa Nelson, Macy Osborn, Arti Patel, Steven Plesh, Marcus Poon, Benjamin Rossmiller, Amy Rubrich, Kyle Satterstrom, Zachary Weekes, Susanna Yaeger-Weiss, and Brett Yoder.

Sixty-three students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Exams with grades of three or higher. The AP Scholars are Ashley Belgarde, Taylor Betthauser, Ariane Boissonnas, Viswavardhan Challa, Anthony Chavez, Connor Collies, Rachel Davis, Nicholas Doll, Sierra Ducharme-Hansen, Elizabeth Ehrler, Erin Engbring, Sydni Euclide, Taryn Foreman, Joshua Fronsee, Paola Gonzalez, Emily Gyorog, Luke Hartman, Caleb Havens, Kelton Heinemann, Clark Heiser, Lucas Hoerz, Meghan Hosely, Tayler Hughes, Sean Johnson, Michael Katz, Cory Kramschuster, Tyler Kraut, Justin Laridaen, Mason Lee, Katie Lovicott, Ian Luecht, Kathryn Lund, Sydney Marsh, Ryan McDowell, Hunter Milgram, Heidi Morrical, Jessica Muesbeck, Ross Nett, Charles O’Connor, Alexander Otto, Megan Patterson, Mallorie Peppin, Konrad Plomedahl, Chistopher Procak, Jacob Ringelstetter, Tori Sharpe, Grace Singer, Alex Smith, Brendan Smith, Caitlyn Stevens, Matthew Stojanovich, Jacob Tazelaar, Anna Thomas, Maxwell Thorstad, Savannah Valigura, Nicholas Vang, Phoebe Wagner, Kimberly Walsh, Samuel Weber, Matthew Weiss, Trevor Wysocki, McKayla Yentz, and Mitchell Zank.

Of this year’s award recipients at Sun Prairie High School, thirty-four were juniors. These students have at least one more year in which to complete college-level work and possibly earn a higher-level AP Scholar Award.

More about

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.