Waterloo’s Kaitlyn Filter has been selected as the 2019 Capitol South Conference Player of the Year in softball.

Filter had a tremendous senior season batting .574 with 31 hits in 54 at bats. The infielder also scored 24 runs, had 10 RBIs and in 63 plate appearances struck out just once.

It was the second-straight first-team honor for Filter.

Also named to the All-CSC first team were Filter’s teammates, Michaela Riege and Melanie Renforth.

Riege, a freshman, batted a gaudy .618 to lead the Pirates. Riege had 34 hits in 55 at bats, which included team-highs in doubles (8), triples (2) and home runs (4) while driving in 24 runners, tied with Renforth.

Renforth, a senior, hit .472 with 25 hits in 53 at bats. Renforth also drove in 24 runs, scored 10 times and struck out just one tie in 59 plate appearances.

Marshall’s Bailey Neuberger also earned first-team honors for a second-straight season. The senior hit at a .407 clip with 22 hits in 54 at bats, leading the team in triples (3) and home runs (3) while driving in 10.

Marshall’s Aubrie Kappes and Hailey Erdmann, along with Waterloo’s Abigail Gier earned second-team honors.

Kappes, a junior, batted .291 with a team-leading four doubles. She also scored a team-high 21 runs.

Erdmann hit .333 and was the team’s top pitcher earning four wins.

Gier, just a freshman, hit .414 with 24 hits in 58 at bats, driove in 13 and scored 17 runs for the Pirates.

Marshall junior Malena King earned honorable mention recognition, after batting .310.

Tayler Kraemer of Wisconsin Heights was named Pitcher of the Year.



Kaitlyn Filter Warterloo Sr.

Bailey Neuberger Marshall Sr.

Tayler Kraemer Wisconsin Heights Sr.

Jada Wood Wisconsin Heights Jr.

Maddy Weber Belleville Jr.

Miranda Keith Wisconsin Heights Jr.

Ciera Peters Cambridge Jr.

Michaela Riege Waterloo Fr.

Bailey Legler Belleville Sr.

Ashlynn Jarlsberg Cambridge Jr.

Sydnee Duhr Wisconsin Heights So.

Melanie Renforth Waterloo Sr.


Ella Campbell Belleville Jr.

Aubrie Kappes Marshall Jr.

Jillian Michaels Belleville Jr.

Haylee Cummuta Wisconsin Heights Sr.

Hailey Erdmann Marshall Jr.

Zoe Moen New Glarus Jr.

Abigail Gier Waterloo Fr.

Mary Hommen Cambridge Jr.

Elle Nottestad Cambridge Fr.

Alycia Hosking Wisconsin Heights Jr.

Faith Bump New Glarus Sr.

Cecilia Grefsheim Belleville So.


Melana King Marshall Jr.

Taylor Stenklyft Cambridge Fr.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.