Shaun Scheel of Lake Mills became the first two-time winner of the season at Jefferson Speedway.

CAMBRIDGE — Lake Mills driver Shaun Scheel charged to the front of the field on Saturday night at Wisconsin’s Action Track and drove away to win the CR Custom Construction 50-lap Late Model feature. The win gives the Lake Mills driver his second feature victory of the season and two out of the last three.


Kyle Smith and Brent Edmunds paced the field to green as they battled wheel to wheel for control in the early laps. Edmunds claimed the top spot for himself on lap four as Smith fell back into a fight with Dylan Schuyler for second. Schuyler moved past Smith on lap five while Scheel was slicing his way up to third. The first of two cautions waved on lap eight when Smith spun in turn two. Edmunds led the pack back to green with Schuyler filling up his rearview mirror and Scheel in third. As racing resumed, Scheel dove under Schuyler, stealing the second position on lap nine. Michael Grueneberg moved up to challenge Schuyler for third as Scheel began to close in on Edmunds. Scheel motored under the early leader, grabbing control of the point on lap 12. Grueneberg got by Schuyler and slid up under Edmunds on lap 17. Grueneberg cleared for second just before the second and final yellow slowed the pace on lap 18 when Will Rece made hard contact with the backstretch wall in an incident involving Stephen Scheel. Shaun Scheel brought the field back to green with Grueneberg riding in second and Riley Stenjem now up to third. Scheel flexed his muscle, dominating the final 32 laps en route to the win. Grueneberg was second with Stenjem, Dale Nottestad and Edmunds rounding out the top five.


Fort Atkinson’s Bobby Selsing Jr. captured the 30-lap Sportsman feature event. Jim Taylor led lap one with Cody Houseweart in second. Steven Sauer and Selsing battled for third on lap three with Selsing taking the spot a lap later. On lap six, Selsing dove under Houseweart entering turn one. Selsing cleared for second and quickly charged up behind Taylor. Selsing made his move for the lead on lap 11, getting to the low side of Taylor entering turn one. Selsing made the winning pass complete on lap 13 just before the yellow flag waved to slow the action. Selsing led the field back to green with Taylor in second and Tim Coley up to third. Coley went to work on Taylor for second while Selsing stretched his advantage. Coley got by Taylor on lap 25, bringing Mark Deporter along for third. Deporter got by Coley in the closing laps, but Selsing sailed to the checkers to get the win. Deporter was second followed by Coley, Sauer and Taylor.


An exciting finish to the 25-lap Hobby Stock feature ended with Wausau’s Kolton Guralski in victory lane with his first career feature victory in the division. Nick Bruley led lap one with Dan Snyder back to second. Jared Vike moved up to third on lap four and began to challenge Snyder for second. Using the outside groove, Vike drew even with Snyder on lap eight as they pulled up behind Bruley. On lap 11, Bruley drifted high on the exit of turn two allowing both Snyder and Vike to drive under him in a three-way battle for the lead. Snyder emerged with the position while Vike pulled into second a lap later. Guralski joined the duo at the front as he drove to the inside of Vike on lap 16. Two laps later, Guralski was in second alone and setting his sights on Snyder. Just as Guralski launched his bid at the top spot, the caution slowed his efforts with just four laps remaining. As racing resumed, Guralski once again drove to the high side of Snyder. Guralski inched forward until the pair of competitors was side by side with two laps to go. Guralski continued to gain ground on Snyder as he held the advantage to begin the final circuit. Guralski maintained his momentum on the final lap to cross the stripe first for the win. Snyder settled for second with Vike, Scott Riedner and Brandon Angileri completing the top five.


Aaron Moyer of West Bend claimed the clean sweep on the Legends division after winning the 25-lap feature as well as his heat race and laying down the fastest lap in qualifying. Tony Moyer and Dillon Scott led the field to green with Moyer taking the initial lead on lap one. Jim Tate Jr charged up to battle Moyer on lap one, passing for the lead on lap two. Scott got back by Moyer on lap three before the sole caution of the race slowed the action on lap four. Tate and Scott led the pack back to green as Tate charged out front again on the restart. Cole Grey moved up under Tate with Ethan Ross in tow on lap six. Ross drove by both Grey and Tate to grab the lead for himself. Meanwhile, Aaron Moyer was making way through the field and into the top three. Moyer made his way to second on lap seven and pulled up behind the new leader, Ross. Moyer shadowed Ross for two laps until driving under the leader on lap nine. Ross returned to the lead after a brief side by side battle. Moyer got back under Ross on lap 16, this time clearing for the lead entering turn three. But Ross used a crossover move to get back alongside Moyer. The duo continued to swap positions and a little paint as the laps ticked away. Moyer eventually cleared for sole possession of the lead on lap 18. Moyer stretched his lead slightly in the closing laps to capture the checkers for the win. Ross settled for second followed by Grey, James Lynch and Noah Eisenhower.


Alex Hartwig of Portage also completed the clean sweep on the evening by winning the 15-lap Bandolero feature as well as his heat race and fast time in qualifying. Chase Wangsness led early from the front row as Michael Guderski and Anna Price battled for second behind them. Price drove up on the outside of Wangsness on lap five allowing Hartwig to fill the gap on the high side of Guderski. Price drove out front with Hartwig in her tracks for second. Hartwig quickly made his move, getting by Price for the lead on six. Guderski followed into second with Logan Taylor joining him on lap nine. Taylor and Guderski launched a battle for second while Hartwig pulled away. A caution on lap 12 erased his lead, setting up a three-lap shootout to the finish. Hartwig and Taylor brought the field back to green with Hartwig regaining the top spot on the restart. Hartwig powered to the finish from there while Taylor and Jevin Guralski fought for second. At the checkers, it was Hartwig for the win with Taylor claiming the second spot. Guralski was third with Karter Stark and Guderski rounding out the top five.


Next Saturday, June 22, is a full program of racing presented by Benninger Concrete and Construction. Time trials begin a 5 p.m. with racing at 7.

Jefferson Speedway is located halfway between Jefferson and Cambridge on Hwy 18. Please visit for more information.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.