Community Awards Banquet

The Community Awards presented by the Waunakee Chamber were held at Rex’s Innkeeper on Sunday, April 30. Receiving awards were, in front, Shirley Kubiak, Danny Paul, Abby Johnson, Gary Acker and Diane Anderson; in middle, Ted Tweed, Andrew Hovde, Kerry Abercrombie, Alan Langeteig, Johanna Meier and Janel Karls; in back Dean Meier, Ray Ropers, Kevin Abercrombie, Brian Kersten, Travis Heiser, Brian Ziegler, David Weishoff and James Koch. (Photo by Roger Hamilton)

The Waunakee community on Sunday celebrated the service of 16 fellow residents and businesses who give of their time and talent to make the Waunakee area a better place.

Service organizations each year choose some of the key people to receive the awards, which are sponsored by the Waunakee Area Chamber of Commerce.

The following is a list of the 2017 award winners who were recognized at Sunday’s Community Awards Banquet at Rex’s Innkeeper:

–Brian Ziegler, American Legion Post 360 Leadership Award. Ziegler is chairman of the Badger Honor Flight Board.

–Hovde Properties, Waunakee Chamber of Commerce Orchid Award. Hovde Properties redeveloped the former Koltes Lumber store into the multi-use Village Crossings building that houses the Lone Girl Brewery, Red Barn Company and Ecco Salon.

–David Weishoff, the Waunakee Chamber of Commerce Young Professional Award. David Weishoff is the owner of David’s Certified Auto Repair.

–The State Bank of Cross Plains and Culver’s, Chamber Business of the Year. The two businesses were tied for the award.

-Waunakee Rotary Club, the Waunakee Chamber of Commerce’s non-profit of the year. The Rotary Club sponsors number of community events and programs, including the Rotary Lights at the Village Park.

-Danny Paul, Waunakee Chamber Champion Award. Paul has been an active volunteer with the Chamber for many years.

–Ted Tweed and Ray Ropers, the Waunakee Community Services Department Friends of the Community Award. Both are key organizers of the Waunakee Health and Energy Fair, along with the Workshops for Wellness.

–Jim Koch, Waunakee FFA Alumni Association Agricultural Enterprise Award. Koch organized the first Grilled Cheese Stand at the Lodi Agricultural Fair, and the tradition has raised nearly $18,000 over the years for the Waunakee and Lodi FFA Chapters.

–Abby Johnson, the Waunakee Optimist Club’s Outstanding High School Senior. Johnson is an active volunteer who is involved in many school activities, including Student Council, FBLA and Social Justice Club.

–Kevin and Kerry Abercrombie, the Waunakee Rotary Club’s Business Person of the Year. The Abercombies own the Lone Girl Brewery, where they employ 80-plus individuals and are involved in many community efforts.

–Gary Acker, Waunakee Rotary Club’s Safety Person of the Year. Acker just retired from a 40-year career with the Waunakee Fire Department after serving as chief.

–Shirley Kubiak, the Waunakee Senor Center Senior Volunteer of the year. Shirley Kubiak is active in the American Legion and the Youth Americanism Program and started the Polish and Pamper program at the Senior Center.

–Diane Anderson, the Waunakee Lioness Community Involved Women. Anderson has raised over $200,000 for the American Cancer Society and been active in several community organizations.

–Brian Kersten, Waunakee Lions Club Distinguished Service Award. Kersten is principal of Waunakee High School and has received the Principal of the Year Award and the Administrator of the Year Award. He has also emceed the Community Awards Banquet for 11 years.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.