A longtime town of Deerfield resident has registered as a write-in in the April 3 Town Board election.

Voters won’t see Randy Behlke’s name on the ballot but if they write him in he’s guaranteed a seat because just one other candidate, Nick Brattlie, is in the running for two open positions.

Behlke has lived in the town for 21 years. Prior to moving to the Deerfield area he served on the Watertown Common Council for 12 years.

Local politics, “is not new to me,” he said.

Behlke said he felt it’s imporant, with critical issues facing the board in the coming term, to have all its seats filled.

The deadline for registering as a write-in for the April 3 election is 5 p.m. Friday, March 30. Under state law, clerks can throw out names written onto a ballot that are not of a registered write-in.

Behlke is the only write-in registered as of Tuesday in the Cambridge-Deerfield area, which has no contested school board, village or town board races. Neither are incumbent Dane County Board Supervisor Bob Salov, nor incumbent Jefferson County Board Supervisor Laura Payne, opposed in their April reelection bids. Here are the candidates on the local ballots:

Rockdale Village Board

Rockdale Village Board candidates, for two seats, are Jeri Boden and Alicia Hynes. Both incumbents — Carl Rucks and Nancy Bishell — have filed non-candidacy papers.

Cambridge School Board

Two Cambridge School Board seats are on the ballot. The incumbent for one of those seats, Margaret Sullivan, has filed non-candidacy papers. The incumbent for the second seat, Thomas Wright, is on the ballot as is a newcomer, Sean Marren. School Board terms are for three years.

Cambridge Village Board

Three seats are on the ballot for the Cambridge Village Board. The seats are now held by incumbents Sue Christianson, Paula Hollenback, and Mark McNally. All three are running unopposed for the two-year terms

Deerfield School Board

The Deerfield School Board has four seats on the April ballot. Incumbents Jim Haak, Autumn Knudtson, Nathan Brown, and Sandy Fischer are all running unopposed. Knudtson currently holds a seat vacated last year by Doug Cwik. That seat expires in April 2020, while the others are three-year terms.

Deerfield Village Board

On the Deerfield Village Board, three seats are open. Incumbents Arnold Evensen, Gary Wieczorek, and David Wilkinson are all running unopposed for two-year terms.

Oakland Town Board

Two seats are on the ballot for the Oakland Town Board. Incumbents Tom Jensen and Jimmy DeGidio are unopposed for two-year seats.

Christiana Town Board

The Town of Christiana staggers its election years, with no elections in 2018.

Dane and Jefferson County Boards

Bob Salov is the incumbent for the Dane County Board Supervisor District 37 seat that represents the Cambridge-Deerfield area. He is unopposed for a two-year term. Incumbent Jefferson County Board Supervisor Laura Payne, who represents District 16, Ward 1-3, in the Town of Oakalnd and Ward 1 in the Village of Cambridge, is running unopposed for re-election for a 2-year term.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.