The Lakeside Lutheran Forensics team

The Lakeside Lutheran Forensics team, coached by Mr. Steve Lauber, recently won its tenth consecutive Capitol Conference championship at the meet held at Lake Mills High School Feb. 3. From back left: Will Jorgenson, Matthew Gunst, Douglas Weittenhiller III, Connor Dobson, Christian Stuebs, Trey Lauber and Cyrus Wilke. Third: Kaylee Raymond, Brendan McKenna, Jocelyn Asmus, Ella Butzine, Bronte Perkins, Evelyn Schauer, Emilee Meiller, Caroline Schulz and Rose Hissom. Second: Ian Olszewski, Matthea Lenz, Logan Wensel, Greta Pingel, Megan Jones, Lydia Bilitz, Ethan Lozano and Austin Schwab. Front: Maximus Bennet, Micah Cody, Jacob Horta, Abbie DiGiovanni, Annika Bilitz, Grace Cody and Megan Reinke.

Lakeside Lutheran High School forensics team participated in the Capitol Conference Tournament on Feb. 3 at Lake Mills High School where students competed against each other within 17 speaking categories. Of the 10 conference schools at the tournament, Lakeside Lutheran, coached by Steve Lauber, finished first with a total of 333 points, ahead of Lake Mills (189) and Lodi (154). The win marks Lakeside’s tenth straight conference championship.

The following students led the way in their individual categories for Lakeside Lutheran: Megan Jones, Johnson Creek, placed first in Demonstration; Evelyn Schauer, Watertown, took first, and Caroline Schulz, DeForest, took second in Farrago; Matthew Gunst, Juneau, placed first, and Douglas Weittenhiller III, DeForest, took second in Informative; Logan Wensel, Johnson Creek, took first, and Trey Lauber, Lake Mills, took second in Moments in History. Bronte Perkins, Madison, and Ella Butzine, Sun Prairie, placed first in Playacting.

Connor Dobson, Johnson Creek, and Megan Grambsch, Columbus, tied for first place, and Greta Pingel, Sun Prairie, took second in Prose; Will Jorgensen, McFarland, and Jacob Horta, Helenville, tied for second place in Radio Speaking; Abbie DiGiovanni, Jefferson, placed first in Solo Acting Humorous, and Annika Bilitz, Cottage Grove, placed first in Solo Acting Serious. Kaylee Raymond, Sun Prairie, placed first in Special Occasion; and Ryann Burger, Lake Mills, took first place in Storytelling.

On Feb. 18, sub-districts will be held at Jefferson High School, where the full team of 30 will begin competition to advance to the district meet and from there, to the Wisconsin High School Forensic Association (WFHSA) State Tournament at University of Wisconsin in Madison, April 17.

Load comments