One Poynette student and a Lodi teacher were recently recognized as recipients for the Herb Kohl scholarship and fellowship.

Poynette student Abigail Marquardt was named as one of the 193 Wisconsin high school seniors awarded a $10,000 scholarship through the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Student Excellence Scholars. Lodi Middle School Teacher Michelle Howe was named to the Herb Kohl Education Foundation Teacher Fellows, which includes a $6,000 award.

Recipients of the Excellence Scholarship award have demonstrated excellence in the academic arena and high motivation to achieve, have displayed a broad range of activity and leadership outside the academic setting, and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond.

Fellowship recipients are educators who have been chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others and their leadership and service within and outside the classroom.

Awards in the amount of $6,000 were given to 100 teachers, 16 principals and their schools for the Fellowship and Leadership awards.

All Kohl Foundation winners are selected by a statewide committee composed of civic leaders, and representatives of education-related associations and the program’s co-sponsors: The Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools (WCRIS), regional Cooperative Educational Service Agencies (CESA), the Association of Wisconsin School Administrators, and the Wisconsin Parents Association.

The Kohl Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship program was established by Herb Kohl, philanthropist and businessman, in 1990. Currently in its 30th year of recognizing educational excellence, the foundation has awarded $20.9 million to Wisconsin educators, principals, students and schools.

“Education is the key to the future of Wisconsin and our nation. I am very proud of the accomplishments of these students, teachers, and principals and look forward to the great contributions they will make in the future,” Kohl said.

Marquardt and Howe will be recognized at a May 16 banquet at Baraboo High School.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.