2021-22 Lakeside Lutheran Music award winners

Winning music department awards recently at Lakeside Lutheran in Lake Mills were (back row, l-r) Caleb Koester, Fort Atkinson; Isaac Winters, Watertown; Ethan Gulczynski, Lake Mills; Jon Abel, Fort Atkinson; and Matthea Lenz, Oconomowoc. (middle) Austin Schwab, Fort Atkinson; Jack DePrey, Sun Prairie; Manuel Iglesias, Watertown; Ben Kasper, Helenville; Marissa Duddeck, Whitewater; Logan Wensel, Johnson Creek. (front) Elsa Johansson, Columbus; Nina Litherland, Columbus; Aree Huwe, Deerfield; Emerson Milbrath, Watertown; Ambria McCrary, Sun Prairie.

The Lakeside Lutheran Music Department, led by Choir Director James Buege and Band Director Glen Pufahl, presented music awards for the 2021-22 academic year to several student musicians — including two Sun Prairie residents — at the school’s recent Commencement Concert.

The National School Choral Award is the highest honor for high school choral performers. It recognizes the dedication and musical achievement of top choral students nationwide, and was awarded to senior Logan Wensel, daughter of Jason and Jennifer Wensel of Johnson Creek.