Iowa State University

Two Waterloo residents were named to Iowa State University’s Dean’s List for the spring 2020 semester. Students named to the Dean’s List must have earned a GPA of at least 3.50 on a 4.00 scale while carrying a minimum of 9 credit hours of graded course work. The two named to the list were biology major Peter Miller and agricultural engineering major Theodore Rowbotham.

University of Utah

Riley Spear, of Marshall, graduated April 30 from the University of Utah, located in Salt Lake City. Spear earned a bachelor of science in communication.


Waterloo residents Bree Marconnet and Cameron Quimby, who attend the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater and are both majoring in media arts and game development, were award winners at the 2020 MAGD EXPO held virtually May 19-June 19. Marconnet received an honorable mention in the 2D category for Manu; Quimby received an honorable mention in the video category for Luden.

The MAGD EXPO is normally held in early May on the UW-Whitewater campus as a one-day event featuring a juried show of interactive entertainment in 2D, 3D, aural, virtual and animated creative work. This year it was moved to a virtual environment. The entire event was run through the website and student projects can still be viewed through the site. The categories for entries included: 2D, 3D, Video, Audio/Interactive/Physical and Games. There were 53 different entries this year.

Edgewood College

Tess Schroeder and Hailey Judkins, both of Marshall, were recognized for their academic achievements for the spring 2020 semester at Edgewood College. Full-time undergraduate and post-baccalaureate students who earn a cumulative GPA of 3.75 or higher are eligible for the Dean’s List after completing 24 credit hours of study at Edgewood College. Full-time students who achieve a 3.5 GPA for the semester are eligible for semester honor. Schroeder was named to the Dean’s List and received semester honors; Judkins earned semester honors.


Lutheran College

Noah Cook of Marshall and Ashley Kohls of Waterloo graduated in May from Wisconsin Lutheran College, located in Milwaukee. Cook, a graduate of Marshall High School, received a bachelor of science in psychology; Kohls, a graduate of Lakeside Lutheran High School, earned a bachelor of science in sport and exercise science.

UW-Eau Claire

Seven local students were named to the spring 2020 Dean’s List at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire. To be eligible for the recognition, students must be in good academic standing, have a minimum semester GPA of 3.7, and completed at least 12 credits during the semester.

Marshall students named to the list were Kelsey Bakken, Alanna Huggett, Alea Kloepping, and Alexandra Voigts. All four are studying in the college of arts and sciences. Waterloo students earning the distinction were Cassidy Mattson and David Miller, both studying in the college of arts and sciences; and Julia Landphier, who attends the school of nursing and health sciences.

Madison College

Allison Dempski of Marshall was named to the spring 2020 Dean’s List at Madison Area Technical College. She received perfect honors with a 4.0 GPA.

UW-River Falls

Danielle Barman, of Marshall, graduated summa cum laude from the University of Wisconsin-River Falls in May. Barman earned a bachelor of science in mathematics.

Load comments