A great showing at the Badger Conference Tournament helped the Waunakee prep wrestling team earn a share of the Badger North Conference title. It also helped the Warriors earn a plethora of all-conference picks.

The Warriors had seven wrestlers named All-Badger North.

Baraboo was a Badger North-best 7-0 during the dual season, followed by Waunakee (6-1), Reedsburg (5-2), Sauk Prairie (4-3), Portage (3-4), Beaver Dam (2-5), DeForest and Mount Horeb (0-7).

Waunakee finished third overall at the Badger Conference Tournament to earn a share of the overall Badger North crown with Baraboo.

The Warriors had four wrestlers land on the first team All-Badger North, including junior 120-pounder Kolby Heinz, senior 126-pounder Nick Schweitzer, sophomore 160-pounder Kaden Hooker and senior 170-pounder Colton Grindle.

Heinz and Grindle both claimed Badger Conference titles. Heinz defeated Milton’s Royce Nilo 7-3 in the championship match at the conference tournament, while Grindle thwarted Baraboo’s Aiden Estes 8-5.

Schweitzer and Hooker both place third at the conference tournament.

The other spots on the first team went to Portage 106-pounder Chase Beckett (So.), DeForest 113-pounder Chase Shortreed, Reedsburg 132-pounder Caden Fry (Sr.), Portage 138-pounder Jessie Tijerina (Sr.), Portage 145-pounder Lowell Arnold (So.), Baraboo 152-pounder Frankie Van Houten (Sr.), Baraboo 182-pounder John Gunderson (Jr.), Sauk Prairie 195-pounder Nolan Vils (Fr.), Sauk Prairie 220-pounder Simon Patterson (Sr.) and Sauk Prairie heavyweight Austin Rider (Sr.).

The Warriors had seniors Berhett Statz (145) and Kyle Wilcox (152) named second-team all-conference.

Statz came in third at the conference tournament, while Wilcox was seventh.

Joining Statz and Wilcox on the second team are Mount Horeb 106-pounder Jaxon Pernot (So.), Portage 113-pounder David Williams (Fr.), Sauk Prairie 120-pounder Dawson Enge (Sr.), DeForest 126-pounder Jacob Larson, Sauk Prairie 132-pounder Luis Elizondo (Jr.), Baraboo 138-pounder Brandon Jesse (Jr.), Baraboo 160-pounder Noah Langeberg (Sr.), Baraboo 170-pounder Aiden Estes (Sr.), Sauk Prairie 182-pounder Marcus Hankins (Sr.), Baraboo 195-pounder Ben Florencio (Sr.), Baraboo 220-pounder Tyson Fry (Sr.) and Reedsburg heavyweight David Finkel (Sr.).

Warrior junior 132-pounder Brody Hemauer was named honorable mention all-conference. He did not wrestle at the conference tournament.

DeForest junior 160-pounder Brody Hemauer, who also missed the conference tournament, was the only other honorable mention pick.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.